During the Italian occupation of the island (1912-1945) major restoration work was carried out on the Lindos Acropolis. The NE side of the temple was restored as well as the long SE wall and three of the four columns of the opisthodomos. The monumental staircase to the propylaea and many of the columns of the Hellenistic stoa are later reconstructions. The poros stone used is brittle and quickly damaged. Large surfaces were covered with concrete and re-erected. Bases and inscribed blocks were taken from their findspots and placed along the restored walls. Much of the work was done arbitrarily without taking into account the excavation evidence and without due care for the surviving architectural parts. In recent years a study has been carried out under the supervision of experts in the Ephorate to restore the ancient buildings on the Acropolis.